SERIAL FICTION, HISTORICAL FICTION, HISTORICAL ROMANCE, REAM STORIES, KINDLE VELLA

Chapter 4: A Little Trip Between Brothers

In early Spring, 1620

Laura Jevtich
6 min readAug 26, 2024

--

Chapter 4 of Garlic and Onions created by Laura Jevtich using Canva
Chapter 4 of Garlic and Onions created by Laura Jevtich using Canva

“Goodbye, Mother. I am taking the boys to Gravesend to see some friends. We are taking out our new boat we created. Together we are going to pool our money and celebrate in Gravesend. We’ll return in a week or two to prepare Richard for schooling,” James said.

Mary asked, “Be safe and smart. Do not lose all your hard-earned money. Do you plan to visit your father’s grave? Some family members dwell in Gravesend. I take it you will visit with them as well?”

James replied, “Yes, and I will take fishing poles, hooks, flint and steel, tinder, sleeping rolls, and some ale. Plus, your finest cheese and flaky rosemary bread. Anything needed from the market?”

“You boys aren’t going to the market, I guess. Am I right?”

James blushed pink and said, “Sammy is long overdue for some fun, and John and Richard are becoming men. I’d feel better knowing they could handle themselves with the ladies rather than ruining your bedsheets, wouldn’t you?”

“James! You are so like your father! Off with you all! Remember, women like pretty ribbons that match or compliment their…

--

--

Laura Jevtich

I Changed my Financial Mindset and I am an Author, Small & Natural Living, Minimalist Lifestyle, Productivity Lover, and Master Gardener living in the desert.